Dot

First solar eclipse of 2022 coincides with new moon

Dot

The first solar eclipse of 2022 took place on Saturday, April 30, 2022.  

Dot

It was a partial solar eclipse and was visible to people in parts of southern South America, Antarctica, and the Pacific and Southern Oceans. 

Dot

According to TimeandDate.com, the solar eclipse began at 2:45 p.m. EDT (1845 GMT) in the far southeastern Pacific near the coast of Antarctica and lasted for around four hours, ending at 6:37 p.m. EDT (2237 GMT) over the south Atlantic Ocean. 

Dot

It can be known that the eclipse of April 30 also coincided with the second new moon of the month, also referred to as Black Moon.

Dot

During a partial eclipse, the Moon and Sun are not perfectly aligned, so the Moon does not completely cover the Sun.

Dot

People who missed the chance to witness the partial solar eclipse on April 30, 2022 will now have to wait for the month of October to see one.

Dot

Upto 80% off on Today's Deals Swipe Up Now

Upto 80% off on Today's Deals Swipe Up Now

Arrow